PDA

View Full Version : Need AEFW Help

pterfloth
07-25-2010, 04:49 AM
I have been battling AEFW for several months. I have a 200 gal tank filled to the brim with acro-SPS and many exceptional colonies. I have been removing and dipping smaller colonies in Coral RX weekly for several months, but the AEFW keep coming back. I have several enormous colonies encrusted onto rock that are impossible to remove and these are now starting to become infested.

I have tried to add wrasses but they keep carpet surfing and I need an open top because I used fans to cool the 1468 watts of lighting.

I have 2 spare 30 gallon tanks I can use for quarantine but they will not hold all of my acros.

Any and all suggestions would be very much appreciated.

NOTE: Please dip ALL of your coral purchases. I got my AEFW from a reputable LFS, so don't trust them to look after you.

tang daddy
07-25-2010, 06:01 AM
Peter I am sorry to hear about your misfortune, we have all kept sps and one time or another run into these pesky buggers.... I have talked to a few friends that have had some success.

I mostly dip my sps in revive, they sell it at most lfs and another thing if you cant remove them because of the larger rocks use a strong powerhead or turkey baster and blast them into the water coloumn where fish can pick them off or get filtered out.

Have you tried a melanarus wrasse? mine is a insane hunter and eats any moving spec also the yellow canary wrasse is a good choice and they don't usually jump...

good luck on your battle, please keep us updated!

Aquattro
07-25-2010, 06:23 AM
At this point I'd cover the top with egg crate and add the leopard wrasse. Angle the fans more to compensate for the grating.

Sebae again
07-25-2010, 06:34 AM
I say to set up another tank and dip and scrape off every egg. If you don't get them all they will just multiply and you will fight this battle till you have nothing left. Best of luck. ( I've been there done that)

Aquattro
07-25-2010, 06:38 AM