PDA

View Full Version : Lighting 180G (72x24x24)

Marmot74
06-27-2010, 07:31 PM
Hey Guys,

I am totally new to reef lighting and want to get the correct light first time around.

I have a 180g, 72x24x24 tank.

I would like an all in one light with MH, T5 and Moonlights.

Is 3x250w a good choice? Should I get Magnetic or Electronic ballasts for the MH?

Been looking at the Belize Sun, Maristar and Aqua Medic combos but am totally going around in circles! Help :)

Pazil
06-27-2010, 10:41 PM
What do you plan on keeping in the tank? That will determine what type of light you should be looking for.

Marmot74
06-27-2010, 10:48 PM
It will be a full reef with SPS etc etc

So I don't wan't to limit myself much.

burrows14
06-27-2010, 11:02 PM
Instead of a fixture would you consider a hood or light rack with pendants? 2x lumenbright large or 2 lumenarc pendants would give you plenty of coverage. at 24" deep you could get away with 250w MH. If you want to upgrade to 400w later on I would get either the lumatek or galaxy select a watt ballast's so you can switch from 250w to 400w with he flick of a switch. Then you can add t5's or leds for supplementation.

Marmot74
06-29-2010, 04:42 AM
I was looking at the all in one types (MH, T5, Moonlight) like Hamilton Belize Sun. Do they suck?

burrows14
06-29-2010, 04:51 AM
Ive heard good things about them from a couple of people. The only thing is that the centre brace will block out the middle MH.

Marmot74
06-29-2010, 04:55 AM
The tank has 2 braces. Splitting the tank into 3rds. Wouldn't that be ideal for a 3 light unit?

burrows14
06-29-2010, 05:00 AM
My mistake! I swear I read that you had only one centre brace lol Yes then that fixture would be great for your tank lol I almost went with the 60" version but I couldn't find one with mogul bulbs so I am making my own fixture lol Other wise looks like a great light

Marmot74
06-30-2010, 10:05 PM