PDA

View Full Version : Brutal Sunday

tidal_waters
06-21-2010, 07:23 PM
Great forum here and was hoping to get some help, as I'm still pretty new to the hobby.

I was out camping for the weekend and came home to my tank missing a clown, presumably dead and eaten by crabs, and the second blow was I was picking out what I now know is zoa eating nudibranch,s. I pulled about 8 out so far off the polyps.

So now the two questions. With the death of the clown I noticed my nitrates spiked and I changed about 20 percent of my water. Is this going to be enough, or should I whip up another water change tonight.

Now onto the nudis, I know I have a problem on my hands from what I read but I was hoping to get some information or past experiences from some of you that may have had this problem in the past and what steps I should take next to get rid of these guys.

Thanks in advance!!

SeaHorse_Fanatic
06-21-2010, 07:53 PM
I would get some more water ready for additional water changes, but test again before you do it.

For nudibranches and flatworms, I've tried freshwater dips (same temp.) and watched them float off. I dip the rocks with the pests on them and they reacted by letting go of the rock while in the fw and I just quickly swished the rock back and forth. Don't know if this technique will work for you, but it did for me. I dechlorinated the fw dipping water first and made sure temp was similar to the tank water. A few seconds in fw should not adversely affect the live rock or zoas.

Anthony

4lti7ude
06-21-2010, 08:01 PM
Zoa eating Nudies are my biggest fear for my reef right now.
Lougals dip those things, but anything without a spine will die.

May I ask where you picked up these Zoas from?

tidal_waters
06-21-2010, 08:15 PM