PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here: need help choosing a HOB skimmer

Sumfingwong
06-08-2010, 08:13 PM
Hey all,

I recently cleared out my 65g freshwater tank (more like my fahaka puffer died) So I am thinking about going salt.

I went to the Elite Aquatics and they mentioned that I should use the aqua medic turboflotor. He mentioned that his was a 1000 HOB, but I couldnt find it online. The link below didnt say if it was a 1000.

http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS/ctl3684/cp18489/si1379554/cl0/aquamedicturboflotormultihangonwithpump

Or Golds has the Remora Pro. Both was quoted to be the same price.

Which one would you guys choose?

Thanks!

viperfish
06-08-2010, 09:34 PM
The Turboflotor Multi is a very good skimmer. The Remora Pro has got mixed reviews but I personally have had good luck with it, my only complaint was the noise. You will find that the number of skimmers out there to choose from is mesmerizing. You don't have to spend a lot of money to get a good skimmer. Make sure you check out all the brands available and research as much as you can before buying. If you google a skimmer you will almost always find a review with real experiences to help with your decision.

viperfish
06-08-2010, 09:39 PM
Forgot to mention, of the two you listed I would go with the Aqua Medic simply because it is more versatile (can be used in sump or HOB), better build quality, and you don't have the monster skimmer box like the Aqua C needs to run efficiently.

gobytron
06-08-2010, 09:39 PM
If you can, get a deltec HOB.
They are consistently very well reviewed and one of the mostpowerful HOB skimmers out there....
http://www.jlaquatics.com/phpstore/store_pages/product-info.php?product_ID=DD-P0600E

all personal opinion of course...
I have used Red Sea Prizm skimmers in the past with great success and they are pretty cheap by modern standards....

viperfish
06-08-2010, 09:45 PM
+1 on the Deltec, very nice. Definitely the no fail way to go.

mseepman
06-08-2010, 10:21 PM