PDA

View Full Version : Local CITES Experts?

AJ_77
11-03-2003, 11:16 PM
Since RC is blocked at work, I thought I'd ask for some info here. :smile:

Is the latest suspension of trade with Fiji a real concern to suppliers, and therefore to us?

http://www.cites.org/eng/news/sundry/fiji_suspen_renewed2.shtml

Delphinus
11-04-2003, 12:37 AM
Well I'm no CITES expert but I try to follow the issues somewhat because I have done some CITES imports in the past and I find it somewhat interesting (alas, it was not for this hobby but for another one, so no unfortunately I don't have any leads on any cool suppliers overseas!!).

I would assume it will have an impact on us. A lot of our vendors get their stock from Fiji, so if Fiji has lost its CITES export permit, then we will no longer be able to import CITES from there until that is restored.

There are of course other places to import from, so I anticipate that in most likelihood, the overall selection probably won't change much, but the prices might (seeing as the "supply" variable of the "supply/demand" balance has just changed).

Of course, I am not involved in the business so I probably should leave comments to what the real impact will be to the likes of Kyle, James, Wendell, Jayson, Allen, etc. etc.

PS. I do believe that although Walt Smith has a Fijian operation (which would obviously be affected), he does also have operations in other countries so hopefully we won't be starved out of Walt Smith stock. Hmmm, I wonder if Wendell's remaining livestock became suddenly that much more valuable. :question:

EmilyB
11-04-2003, 01:40 AM
Wai's got some awesome Fiji rock in. :eek: I wish I had a couple thousand dollars... I said Wow, no way is that Fiji. Yep he said. Brand new supplier.

Don't know what that means. :confused:

saltcreep
11-04-2003, 01:50 AM
Here is an explanation as to nature of the suspension from a supplier in Fiji;