PDA

View Full Version : Pink Skunk Clownfish Chirping Like A Bird!

AJ_77
10-29-2003, 04:01 AM
Heard a distinct chirping sound coming from the tank tonight - thought it must have been the Lemonpeel. (Maybe dwarf angels can grunt like the big angels?) :eek:

As I watched closely, the larger of my A. perideraion pair was confronting a reflection at the front glass. It would dive, then lift its face and vibrate it quickly from side to side, and make a descending chirping sound. Sounded like a bird, almost like a pigeon, something like a br-r-r-r sound you make with your tongue. (Like my scientific description?) :smile:

Anybody else's clowns make a chirping sound? Rich??
These Skunks are at home in a large LTA, and have been a little "closer" lately, and showing more colour. Also more territorial (the fighting with reflections is new), maybe bonding or pre-spawning behaviour?

I have no books yet, so experiences/opinions are valued.

Delphinus
10-29-2003, 05:01 AM
Neat-oh.. Don't think I've heard of a clown doing it (that doesn't mean much though). Can you take a 30-second video of it???

Jack
10-29-2003, 08:25 AM
He's just clowning around. bwahahaha

Doug
10-29-2003, 01:27 PM
My large pair of cinnamon clowns are always doing that. Sometimes pretty loud.

sumpfinfishe
10-29-2003, 06:13 PM
Hey Alan,

So you have a birdcage now, that's great! :biggrin:
Congrats Al, this usually is a great sign that your fish have either made a serious bond, or they are performing prespawning rituals as you mentioned.

I contacted J. Wilkerson(the author of "Clownfishes") a few years back as I was getting the same response from my two skunks.

Joyce advised me that this action is brought on usually after the pair has finished dating, and are either bonding or it's a behavior brought on from prespawning.