PDA

View Full Version : Hermit Crabs, Friend or Foe?

zum14
03-29-2010, 07:19 AM
Curious what the thoughts are on this as im still novice here and seem to be having a few issues with a blue knuckle, he seems to enjoy knocking my piece of montipora cap around, attatched to rocks, wedged in crevis's, doesnt care, i move it, he kocks it around. I have a hunch but we will see.

Dolf
03-29-2010, 10:53 AM
Most will likely tell you that they are a friend- this is accepted as "common knowledge." However, it depends on how you want to keep your system as to weather they are friend or foe. I try to keep mine fairly natural and prefer all of the life that I can get- so they are foe. Yes, they eat some stuff we consider undesirable- but they will eat anything they can pick at including lots of small but beneficial life forms. They do not occur in anywhere near the numbers on a reef that we are told to add them in our systems (if memory serves they average a maximum of 1 per square meter.) It all depends on what you want from your system and how you want to keep it.

landshark
03-29-2010, 06:05 PM
I have kept Hermits in my reef aquarium for the last 3 years. The only problem I have with them is that they will knock frags over, but so do snails. Secure your frags to the rockwork with eg.(epoxy putty) and you won't have this problem. I also keep snails in the system, and occassionally one will die unproven at the claws of a hermit. I think hermits are cool, but I only keep a couple in a 55 gallon and I get rid of them for smaller one's when they get tooo large.

zum14
03-29-2010, 11:35 PM
interesting. its not as swayed as i thought.

Ron99
03-30-2010, 12:33 AM
Can we vote for both? I think they have their benefits (in small numbers) for scavenging and eating algae etc. and can also cause problems eating snails or snatching food from LPS etc.

BlueAbyss
03-30-2010, 12:41 AM