PDA

View Full Version : Live rock requirements for a new tank

tHeHEYzeus
03-28-2010, 08:14 AM
I'm new to the world of marine aquariums and am putting together a 45 gallon show tank with a 20 gallon sump. I'm currently purchasing rock and realizing that it is pretty expensive. I was wondering how much regular rock I could get away with using combined with live rock to begin cycling my tank. I've already purchased 30 pounds of really porous non live rock which I'm pretty excited about.

I'm also planning on putting most of my live rock in as smaller pieces the middle compartment of my sump. This way it will filter all the water through the live rock.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

- Ryan

randy123
03-28-2010, 08:23 AM
The rule I was told was 1-1.5 pounds of live rock per gallon of water. You don't have to buy premium for everything, those are show pieces. There are also "base" live rock pieces (a little cheaper) to go on the bottom levels when you are building it up. They do come with some interesting critters too. The dry (unpopulated rock) likely wont be as atrractive and can just be kept in your sump in a utilitarian role. Just be aware that it takes some time for the live rock to populate the dead rock with the bacteria and all that good stuff.

tHeHEYzeus
03-28-2010, 08:38 AM
Thanks, using the cheaper rock for pieces that aren't being showcased makes a lot of sense. Do you have any idea how much live rock would be required to populated regular rock?

Bloodasp
03-28-2010, 09:07 AM
Even if you put just one live rock in there and the rest being base rock the rest will become live eventually. It's is just a matter of how long you want to be able to fully stock your tank.

Canadian
03-28-2010, 02:35 PM