PDA

View Full Version : Lighting from ebay?

marvinsae
03-28-2010, 04:30 AM
i am thinkin of starting off a reef tank and it's my first time. lighting can get pretty expensive and i'm thinkin about going with t-5's. i've looked on ebay and they are pretty inexpensive. my question is, how is the quality? has anyone ever bought them off ebay?

here's a link to what i was looking at

http://cgi.ebay.com/48-Aquarium-Light-T5-HO-6X-54-Lighting-w-bulbs-NIB_W0QQitemZ280484320591QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item414e2b154f

anyone know where i can get a set from any reputable dealers with cheap prices or even a set that are second hand?

marvinsae
03-28-2010, 04:43 AM
im also thinkin of this
http://cgi.ebay.com/Metal-Halide-Retro-2X-250-Metal-halide-aquarium-light_W0QQitemZ300332402250QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_D efaultDomain_0?hash=item45ed34c64a

i know its just the ballast and all but what type of canopy would i need to screw this fixture in?

fishay
03-28-2010, 04:47 AM
I would be careful with cheap t5 fixtures. Reflectors are really important for t5 lighting and most of the cheap fixtures have only 1 big reflector for all the bulbs. You could look into Sunlight Supply New Wave light fixtures they are cheaper than the Tek fixtures and are pretty good or do a retrofit if your tank will have a canopy. With retro you can make a very good lighting system for cheaper than most fixtures. For example, I hear you can buy ATI t5 reflectors (supposed to be the best reflectors out there) from reefgeek (only by phone) and put together a great retro that is almost as good as the super high end ATI fixtures.

RIPTANK
03-28-2010, 05:04 AM
I wouldn't recommend buying anything on eBay... Yeah, it's cheaper but the risk of buying broken junk and having the hassle of returning it with eBay's stupid and useless protection policy isn't worth it.

Save up and buy it at the LFS, that way if there's anything wrong with it you can immediately return it.

The Grizz
03-28-2010, 05:15 AM