PDA

View Full Version : How to tell if its live rock?

TAB
03-26-2010, 03:04 PM
Hello everyone I am just new to salt water and I am trying to get some materials together to set up a new tank. As the title states how do you know if what you are buying is live rock?

Coleus
03-26-2010, 03:34 PM
if you buy from LFS under "live rock" then it is live rock but sometime you have to cure it or wait for it cycle in your tank. It is good to go once there is no smell and the ammonia,nitrates tests are zero.

The best way is buying some from canreef member so the rock has been in their tank for awhile to save you time on cycle it and save you quite some money.

Physically, they are chunks of limestone rubble.

TAB
03-26-2010, 04:02 PM
Ok thanks, I am buying it from a member, so I just wanted to make sure.

Fishward
03-26-2010, 08:43 PM
the more active the member is on the board the more accountable he/she will be. lots of posts = something to loose if they lead you astray.

NU-2reef
03-26-2010, 09:02 PM
first off, if you base your judgement on the number of posts a person makes then you are unlikely to recieve ALL necessary info.

most shops here in the GVRD sell either cured live rock, uncured live rock or simply base rock. the best way to distinguish the cured vs uncured would be the smell. if it smells like the bay at low tide then there is plenty of die off and would mean the rock is uncured so expect a cycle.

cured rock still smells like the sea but it shouldnt make you gag.

my advice is to go with base rock. and get a few pieces of live rock to seed the bunch. plus the cost of base rock is nearly a third of the cost of live rock.

mseepman
03-26-2010, 10:38 PM
Another option is to use Bulk Reef Supply and order their Eco-rox which are dry man-made versions of rock that you can seed just like base rock and know that you won't get any pests, etc...