PDA

View Full Version : pump to small?

mytank90
02-22-2010, 05:02 AM
i just finished pluming my first ever drilled tank <was surprised no leaks:lol:> my question is i have to turn ball valve about 3/4 closed for my return pump to work and keep up with flow threw sump .is this normal?i bought a used pump off a canreef member and was told its a mag12 but it has no markings on it .its being a real pain to get system to work without overflowing or running dry depending on where i have valve.tank is drilled herbie style with a 1and 1/2 hole for drain and 2 1 inch return holes

The Grizz
02-22-2010, 05:08 AM
I am no expert in this but all my tanks overflow line's are bigger then the return. Your return line's are bigger then overflow so they can't keep up to the overflow. Just a thought.

mytank90
02-22-2010, 05:14 AM
hehe no its a inch and a half pipe just wrote it wrong

The Grizz
02-22-2010, 05:23 AM
well now I am at a loss, my 155 has 2 - 1 1/2" owerflow feeding sump, 1100 gph pump feeds 1 - 1" line that branches off into 4 - 3/4" lines into tank.

the marine apprentice
02-22-2010, 05:25 AM
if its a mag 12 you shouldnt have any issues running dry. just add more water to the sump so it stays higher. or just leave it turned down a bit with your valve.

bvlester
02-22-2010, 07:10 AM
your pump can pump more water than it is getting 1.5" pipe will have a flow of 1200gph if there is no 90 degree turns or even if you are useing a flexable hose for every turn add 1 foot to the pipe. you can either add water or leave like it is and use the ball valve to adjust but don't get to much back pressure. I would add more water and a T or 2 going to more return pipes.
Bill

kien
02-22-2010, 07:14 AM
if its a mag 12 you shouldnt have any issues running dry. just add more water to the sump so it stays higher. or just leave it turned down a bit with your valve.