PDA

View Full Version : DO I have enough flow?

banditpowdercoat
02-13-2010, 01:53 PM
I know it's been covered before, But I can never seem to find what I need easily with the search.
My 150g, I have a Dolphin Amp Master 3000 for Closed Loop 1.5" plumbing so 3000 GPH, running through a OM-4 way. And the Sump return is a Little Giant 4 MDQX throttled back and running a reactor also, so 900GPH?

I want to start keeping some SPS. But lately, not having luck. Could I use more flow? I'm toying with the idea of a wavebox, but not sure how that will work with my coast to coat overflow. It's pretty close to the top of tank.

Bloodasp
02-13-2010, 02:04 PM
26 total turnover? You probably could add more.

fishytime
02-13-2010, 02:54 PM
I always say this to customers at the shop......"anything we can do in our little glass boxes pales in comparison to what mother nature puts a reef through.....as long as your sand stays put, up the flow".....just remember that it is almost impossible to make every coral in your reef happy at the same time....your turnover is probably less that what Bloodasp pointed out because of "head pressure loss"..... a wave box would likely be anoying with a coast to coast overflow, as there will splashing at either end of the overflow.....waveboxes work best with a center overflow....Ive got about 96 times turnover/hr in my tank.....sps love it.....lps not so much...

banditpowdercoat
02-13-2010, 03:06 PM
Hmmm, Anyone with a Vortech wana come visit!!! I wouldnt mind seeing how they would work, making a little wave and such, but it's a little pricy to "test" LOL

The whole thing was to have no powerheads, but I think I may have to get 1 or 2? Only places I would consider are right side of tank, and back wall. But back is pretty much taken up by rock.

Ohh I need a 3rd job.. and 4th, 5th, possibly a 6th LOL

Leah
02-13-2010, 03:36 PM
Dan you could try Flomax. :wink:

mark
02-13-2010, 03:40 PM