PDA

View Full Version : Need HELP, trouble keeping corals, sps and lps

azulikit
02-11-2010, 09:20 PM
Hello,

I'm new to salt and have been running a tank for about 10 months now. I'm having troubles keeping corals and could use some advise.

My sps that I got a month back are turning white from the light brown color they used to be. They are positioned about mid tank level, about 10 inches from the light. The heads on my frogspawn branches (think that's the name) are dying off and the tips are white. These branches are positioned mid to top of the tank level, about 14 inches from the light. I got these branches a couple weeks back and they were in perfect condition.

My equipment set-up is as follows:

90 bowfront, Coralife 48" PC, 2-65 watt Actinic 03 Blue, 2-65 watt 10,000K daylights (aquarium lid is on) and running 8 hrs a day, both sets on, Rena XP3, Deltec MCE 600, inline heater, 9 watt UV sterilizer, 4 Hydor's with Wavemaker controller running at 70% max output to 30% minimum.

Water parameters are as follows:

PH 8.4
Cal 460
Phos 1.0 - I understand it should be lower and I'm working on that. It has never been higher than this number.
Nitrate (NO3) 0
Nitrite (NO2) 0
Ammonia 0
KH 11 dKH
Mg - no test kit
Temp 79
Using Reef Crystals and daily dose of Coral Snow and Coral Vitalizer.

I do weekly or biweekly water changes. I have no problems keeping fish and have never lost any yet. I'm leaning towards the lighting not being sufficient but would like some quality advise on this situation. Hopefully this is enough information for someone to take a stab at it.

Thanks

nlreefguy
02-11-2010, 09:34 PM