PDA

View Full Version : Plexiglass

Chad
09-30-2003, 10:26 PM
Ok, I got a stupid question.. I have some plexiglass.. Is it the same as acrylic? Use the same glue etc?

Thanks

Chad

martym
10-01-2003, 12:30 AM
I would say you can. I'm not a plastic expert though. Watch what you are using it for though, because plexi glass will turn yellow and go brittle after awhile.

Aquattro
10-01-2003, 01:16 AM
Plexiglass is a company name. They do manufacture acrylic sheet, so it is likely that is what you have. So yes, same solvents for bonding.

hw
10-05-2003, 04:07 PM
is the anyplace to buy the bonding solvent in the gvrd?

Aquattro
10-05-2003, 05:17 PM
is the anyplace to buy the bonding solvent in the gvrd?

Any plastics store will sell it.

Van down by the river
10-05-2003, 05:55 PM
because plexi glass will turn yellow and go brittle after awhile.

This is incorrect. Acrylic/Plexiglas will not turn yellow and brittle. I have seen plastics change after prolonged exposure to the sun (years). These pieces were not acrylic. They were a very cheap plastic, which would be unsuitable for aquariums anyways.
Occasionally I have seen brittle plexi but it is usually from poor manufacturing. Old Seaclear aquariums used very thin plexi. They flame polished them, after a short time the tanks would show crazing. Crazing looks like crystallization or a dense web of hairline fractures in the acrylic. The tank can often perform well even with crazing although, early seaclears seemed prone to splitting (material was too thin).