PDA

View Full Version : Baffled by calcium test discrepancies

asylumdown
02-08-2010, 03:46 AM
Hello all,

This past week I have been rather perplexed by water chemistry. I am pretty new to this and didn't realize how quickly calcium and alk levels could drop in a reef tank. Over the past two months with only doing water changes, my calcium went from 600ppm to 345ppm and the alk went from 11.7 to 7.8. pH has remained stable around 8.2-8.3 (depending on what the light in the room looks like when I look at the color swatch) and the SG has been rock steady at 1.024.

Needless to say I decided to get on top of my water chemistry - especially considering how much SPS I've been adding and started a slow process of bringing things back up to recommended levels. I bought the Elos magnesium test and a liquid magnesium supplement this week as well.