PDA

View Full Version : I need cycling advice.

foreveringlass
02-05-2010, 10:32 PM
I am new to this addiction, and need some help. Everywhere I have read says when cycling a new tank it takes up to 6 weeks. While waiting, test and watch for ammonia and Nitrite levels rise and fall, then watch for the nitrates to do the same. I started doing this and today, discovered my levels are back down to 0ppm on the ammonia and nitrite and my nitrates are dropping and below 5ppm now.
When is it safe to add fish? It seems way too early and the last thing I want to do is rush it!

Chase31
02-05-2010, 10:34 PM
in my freshwater it cycled in a week but im no expert and im jumping on to see what people have to say.

cuz
02-05-2010, 10:45 PM
how long have you been "cycling" and are you using any live rock or just base rock?

foreveringlass
02-05-2010, 10:47 PM
I've only been cycling for 2 weeks and I am using live rock.

foreveringlass
02-05-2010, 10:52 PM
I also have live sand.

naesco
02-06-2010, 12:24 AM
You will get an ammonia cycle and it will be measurable.
You will than get a nitrite cycle and it will be measurable.
Wait two weeks after you get a zero reading on nitrites and than add one fish at a time one month apart.
Resist the urge to add more and too often because that is what leads to problems.

foreveringlass
02-06-2010, 12:30 AM
Thanks! Both ammonia and Nitrites were up when I tested earlier in the week, but were zero today. Now I know to wait 2 more weeks.

RuGlu6
02-06-2010, 01:28 AM
Your tank will cycle many more times only every time it will be less evident.

Run skimmer 24/7, Minimal lights to get rid of all algae, start removing Po4 (phosphates) right away, you will thank us later for that.

Do not add anything that you will have to feed (fish), after 6 weeks you can add mushrooms, polyps anything that do not require food.
if you are planning for a fish only tank then wait longer let you system run trough few more cycles.