PDA

View Full Version : leather corals...

Dez
04-23-2002, 12:47 AM
Hey,

I'm still really new to the hobby.. I have a toadstool that always has amazing polyp extension... and for the last 2 days it hasn't opened. Is this normal? My other 2 toadstools are opened... and this has happened to my star polyps as well.. Is this normal? Do they just close up for a few days then open up again?

Let me know...thanks..

desmond

AJ_77
04-23-2002, 12:49 AM
Des, I'm not sure, but it sounds like they need to be at my house. IMO, etc... ;)

You didn't come down Sunday? Heard anything from Eli?

Alan

Dez
04-23-2002, 12:52 AM
Alan,

I do have 2 toadstool frags that I cut a couple of weeks ago... they are doing well with full polyp extension... I'm just patiently waiting for them to attach... Maybe they will migrate to your house one day ;)

No, never made it to Calgary, my wife had a job interview today and I'm swapped with work..

anyone else know about polyp extension?

desmond

ruck'n'reefer
04-23-2002, 02:11 AM
Occasionally my toadstool does not extend its polyps. Sometimes for a couple days. It also sluffs off a mucus type material. It seems to be healthy. These are just observations, i think this is normal!

Son Of Skyline
04-23-2002, 03:05 AM
Leathers "shed" every once in awhile. When this happens it won't extend its polyps and it will secret a bunch of slime. They basically do this to get rid of dirt and other stuff on its surface.

Dez
04-23-2002, 12:15 PM
What about star polyps?....do they do that once in a while too?

des

DJ88
04-23-2002, 12:40 PM
Dez,

How much research into your corals did you do before filling your tank?

Just curious. You did throw a lot in there in a very short period of time. IMO

Dez
04-23-2002, 12:59 PM
Darren,