PDA

View Full Version : lighting question

kuatto
09-25-2003, 01:56 AM
would like some thouhts on what is the best all-round lighting that would allow a variety of corals to be kept but not put you in the poor house when it comes to price.This is going to be for a 300gal tank still in the design stage.would it be cheaper to buy a lighting kit,or build myown?
Thanks in advance. :mrgreen:

Jim

martym
09-25-2003, 03:20 AM
If you can, build your own. I always support LFS where I can but when it comes to saving big$ I do. Don't know what lights to use, I am new in this territory. :mrgreen: Good luck

Jack
09-25-2003, 03:43 AM
A 300gal will put you in the poor house anyways :mrgreen: DIY is always a way of saving money. What kinds of corals are you planning on keeping?

I'd reccomend metal halide.

kuatto
09-25-2003, 03:59 AM
planning on building it out of plywood/glass(been researching for over a year on different designs/ideas)there is no doubt its gonna cost $$$$,but i love building/diy.I'll most likely build the tank over the winter while i decide on plumbing,lights,etc.
I will definitley be posting photos as it progresses. :biggrin:

Jack
09-25-2003, 04:57 AM
Sounds good.

reefburnaby
09-25-2003, 05:10 AM
Hello,

Personally, I would just buy a couple of PFO retros and be done with it. DIY is great if you want to save some money, but it is not for everybody. Screwups are expensive and the results are unpredictable sometimes. A better alternative is to buy used. I have built a lot of DIY stuff over the years, but I have slowly swapped the DIY stuff with the real deal. The DIY stuff works, but it is a pain to maintain and keep it running in the long term.

What are the dimensions of your tank?

With such a large tank, what are your plans to handle the large evaporation from the tank?

- Victor.

kuatto
09-25-2003, 02:19 PM