PDA

View Full Version : Total wipeout- ALMOST

MartyG
09-21-2003, 10:38 PM
I have been doing fish-only salt water aquariums for 25 years, but just had a first disaster. The dead fish don't seem to have died from ich. There were no white spots. Some of the fish exhibited ragged and red fins. I have not had time to test the water yet, sorry.

I have lost all but one fish (a lunare wrasse) in my 90 gallon tank. I lost an Emperor Angel, 3 tangs, a Picasso trigger and Cuban Hogfish. these fish just keeled over within 24 hours and died. I have had this tank running pefectly for 6 years in this location and 3 years in my former location. My fish have grown and thrived.

Whatever the cause, ( I have a few theories, including bacterial infection) what irks me is that this lunare Wrasse is doing just fine.

Here are the questions, never having dealt with this before:

Do I let the tank run the way it is for a while, doing nothing?
Do I do massive water changes?
Do I break down the whole thing and scrub it clean and start from scratch?

advice appreciated

- Gilman

MartyG
09-21-2003, 10:42 PM
Another possible action;

Do I do a copper or antibiotic treatment/

-Gilman

Tau2301
09-21-2003, 11:47 PM
I think that is important to test your water parameters.

Water changes should be done IMO slowly. Too radical a change one way or another can also be also be harmful.

As to what it might be...

MartyG
09-27-2003, 12:19 AM
The last fish died today- a total wipeout.

I tested the water (my test kit may have expired date?)

Ammonia-07ppm
Nitrate -157ppm
Nitrite-07ppm
PH 8.6 (a bit high!)
Dissolved Oxygen-7ppm

I'm thinking some kind of contaminant?
High co2 (PH) as a result of equipment failure?
I plan to do 50% change on (no fish) water.

Any other ideas?

-Martyg

fishnut
09-27-2003, 04:26 AM
Sorry for your loss.

I know how easy it is to forego regular testing when everything appears to be doing well.