PDA

View Full Version : What is an "advanced aquarist" ??

kien
01-14-2010, 05:44 AM
So this evening I decided to put off working on my (104.72g) tank yet again and insteaded decided to do some reading. I came accross this term again and it always seems to nip at me whenever I see it and I see it a lot. An "advanced aquarist". What the heck is that anyway? How do you qualify as one? How do you even define one?

Delphinus
01-14-2010, 06:28 AM
Congratulations! By asking the secret question, you just qualified yourself as an advanced aquarist, eligible now to advance to the .. um .. the .. see, shoot, I was never good at ad-libbing .. oh oh I know! The NEXT LEVEL. Take it to the NEXT LEVEL!

whatcaneyedo
01-14-2010, 07:07 AM
I took Randy Holmes Farley's Reef Chemistry Quiz... I guess I'm an apprentice marine chemist according to that. I really don't know how else a person can formally qualify themselves as something in this hobby. However I have often wondered the same question and I believe that only those people who advance the hobby with their innovations and new approaches can call themselves advanced or expert aquarists. The rest of us who follow the instructions carefully laid out in books and articles can really only hope to be considered as intermediates or apprentices.

Funky_Fish14
01-14-2010, 07:15 AM
My MTS is very advanced... and since I am an aquarist... does that make me an advanced aquarist?

Binare
01-14-2010, 02:11 PM
Its just another canned title to make someone feel far superior to there peers. Seems like it has more todo with money spent then anything else.

banditpowdercoat
01-14-2010, 02:25 PM
I am a Marine Hobbyologist!! that makes me superior!! MWAHAHAHA

Ian
01-14-2010, 02:39 PM
I'm an advanced newbie.......smart enough to know better but.......

belzebuth
01-14-2010, 02:53 PM
To me it's an online magazine :)

soapy
01-14-2010, 03:20 PM
advanced aquarist? That is a really old guy that keeps and aquarium...