PDA

View Full Version : Clam's puking

Buzz
01-13-2010, 01:37 AM
As the title says my Maxima clam just puked out a bunch of white stuff now my tanks all cloudy. Any idea what it's doing? Never had a problem before had him about 2 years now. Everything tests good.

Buzz
01-13-2010, 01:40 AM
Now the other one is doing it.

dsaundry
01-13-2010, 01:40 AM
Probably a bowel movement, so to speak.....or not sure if this is correct, but spawning....Didn't see that you had two...

Lance
01-13-2010, 01:41 AM
It's spawning. It might be a good time for a water change as the excess nutrients in the water column my cause you some problems.

Buzz
01-13-2010, 01:42 AM
Does this happen often I've never seen it before.

Dez
01-13-2010, 01:44 AM
It is known to happen in home aquariums - spawning that is. It is HIGHLY recommended to do big water changes as I have read a couple of articles on it wiping out tanks. It means they're healthy at least.

I'm no expert, but I just remember from past reading.

Lance
01-13-2010, 01:46 AM
Delphinus had a bad incident awhile back when all or most of his clams spawned and caused a nutrient overload. IMO a water change is in order.

Buzz
01-13-2010, 01:49 AM
I'm just getting ready to do one I was just getting some video of it.

dsaundry
01-13-2010, 01:50 AM
Delphinus had a bad incident awhile back when all or most of his clams spawned and caused a nutrient overload. IMO a water change is in order

+1:biggrin:

Buzz
01-13-2010, 01:53 AM
Can the sucessfully spawn in my aquarium (Baby Clams)??

Delphinus
01-13-2010, 02:06 AM
Does sound like a spawn. Rare but not unheard of. Never heard of any baby clams come out of one, alas. Change carbon, clean skimmer and a water change ASAP. Had it happen a couple times before w/p incident but last one I lost 4 fish. :(

Can the sucessfully spawn in my aquarium (Baby Clams)??

whatcaneyedo
01-13-2010, 03:37 AM