PDA

View Full Version : Rubermaid Brute trash can

ElGuappo
01-11-2010, 09:14 PM
i just bought one of these and wonder if anyone else is using them for Ro stroage????

parkinsn
01-11-2010, 09:17 PM
I use them for WC's. Works great.

OceanicCorals-Ian-
01-11-2010, 09:30 PM
They are fine to use. Rinse new cans with a 50/50 Vinegar and warm water solution before using for the first time.

banditpowdercoat
01-11-2010, 09:49 PM
Yup, got 2. Thinking of something a little more easy on the eyes though, considering they are in my dining room!!!!

mark
01-11-2010, 09:54 PM
probably one of the more popular storage containers people use

kien
01-11-2010, 10:27 PM
I thought Myka or someone posted this to canreef some time back but I couldn't find it for some reason... anyway..

http://www.barrreport.com/showthread.php/6196-BEWARE!-Rubbermaid-trash-cans?p=44964

christyf5
01-11-2010, 10:40 PM
I've been using one for about the last 6 months or so. Water stored in it for about a week or so starts to have a funny sort of sour smell to it. I checked all parameters that I can test for and they all check out but I wouldn't be surprised if "something" leached from it. I've had too many tank problems, not caused by anything I can link to the brute can, but wouldn't be surprised if it contributed to future problems or was contributing to the present ones. No problems with coral growth or fish, mostly algae. As soon as I get my new tank up and running I will be storing RO water in a large topoff glass tank (not as large as the brute though) and return the brute to its ideal use, as a garbage can.

OceanicCorals-Ian-
01-11-2010, 10:47 PM
Originally posted by Eric Borneman as documented by his experiences.....