PDA

View Full Version : Ich !!!

Kevotron
12-29-2009, 06:20 AM
So i just purchased a racoon butterfly fish a couple days back and it seems he has developed ich.. covering his body,fins...
hes active, seem to chase food but won't eat it...
i read about Hypo salinity treatment for ich but being a newbie i am not sure how or what i should do ?

edikpok
12-29-2009, 06:35 AM
if he eats, then soak your food in selcon and garlic (garlic helps fish eat...);and keep your water prestine and he should lose the ich

bvlester
12-29-2009, 06:45 AM
Seems he is not eating you need to give him a bath in ICH-X you can also try Para Guard not so toxic you can also try melafix. then try and fined the cause of the ick you will have to evacuate the tank he was in for 45 days as that is the life cycle of ICK. Get a neon goby after as they will pick the ick off and eat it unlike the cleaner shrimp. most of the time the shrimp will only pull it off but will not eat it on ocation and if you are lucky you will get one that eats them.

Bill

Kevotron
12-29-2009, 06:47 AM
so i have to set up a separate tank with a filter and put meds in it ? for 45 days ?

rockworm
12-29-2009, 04:26 PM
I currently have a racoon in QT. I am using cupramine (copper) treatment. You put half the full dose in on day one, then the other half after 48 hours. I think (don't have the bottle in front of me) you maintain the full dose for 10 days.

During this time, you have to monitor the water condition for ammonia as there will be no denitrifying bactieria. The copper kills it all. Frequent water changes may be necessary.

The 45 days, I believe, refers to leaving the display tank fallow (no fish) to ensure that the ich cycle is brolken and all traces of ich in the display die off.

so i have to set up a separate tank with a filter and put meds in it ? for 45 days ?

bvlester
12-29-2009, 05:43 PM