PDA

View Full Version : Need help with salt water set up please

Daniel475
12-12-2009, 08:21 PM
ok so i got my 125 gallon fish tank all up and running its good to go.. so I got my 30 gallon just sittin here i was thinking of starting up a small salt water aquarium .. but I have no experience with salt water set ups.. so what all is involved? and what exactly do I need??? any information would be great.. so far all I have is tank stand heater and filter , and everyone of those peices were in my fresh water tank..
thanks alot
dan

bvlester
12-12-2009, 09:15 PM
go to the public library as they have salt water aquarium books from beginer to advanced. also ask alot of questions on here. first you would have to get things together like salt to mix with water. test kit the basic saltwater master kit from API, there is many different test kit manufactures out there just API is one that I use for the basic tests PH,Ammonia, Nitrite and nitrate. If you get into corals you will need other test kits also. you need to get a Protien skimmer you can use an air stone driven one or a nano skimmer look on here, other forums for saltwater aquariums. and Ebay just remember to ask on ebay if they ship to Canada before bidding. I have seem a few skimmers on here for a great price. Watch for live rock on here also once you have the water in your tank that is, you can try and put a wanted for what you need and see what the responces are. Best thing you can do is read as much as you can and ask alot of questions.

Bill

Daniel475
12-12-2009, 09:25 PM
well thanks alot for the info.. so if you were me what would you do first? i got the tank sittin downstairs all cleaned out and rdy to go..

hillegom
12-12-2009, 09:46 PM
First,
Read, Read. Read
Here is a good start
http://faq.thekrib.com/sbegin-setup.html

new but handy
12-12-2009, 10:08 PM
READ READ READ. Set up the tank READ READ READ. Add water and rock. Wait for your cycle (3-6 weeks) and use that time to READ READ READ.

BlueWorldAquatic