PDA

View Full Version : what camera should i get?

karazy
12-05-2009, 01:22 AM
well since the Christmas season is coming up ive been looking at a few new cameras and im trying to choose one for myself.
i've been using a point and shoot for a few years now and i am quite comfortable with it, but i am ready to upgrade. i have never used a SLR.
my budget isn't huge, but isnt tiny either.

so far im really liking the look of the:
-canon powershot G11
-nikon d3000

and thats it so far.
so please, advice on the cameras i named, or better yet advice on a even better camera in the same price range.:biggrin:

Ian
12-05-2009, 04:52 AM
Not sure what your budget is exactly but I have a d80 and love it except that my camera is smarter than I am:neutral:

BlueWorldAquatic
12-05-2009, 04:56 AM
I have a D80 and it rocks, going to a D300 this year.

Any Nikon SLR and you won't be sorry.

Ken

bvlester
12-05-2009, 06:12 AM
Do your resurch this web site compars cameras.
have a look and see.
I sugest you get the best camera that you can aford with the features that you think you will use the most. Remember most cameras only come with a stock len you will have to buy macro and telephoto lens along with filter lens. I had found a site not long ago that did comparisomes side by side and I mean everything including the # of shutter action you should exspect. on all types of camers and lens I could not find it tonight but I will look again It my have been in a magizine.

http://www.digital-slr-guide.com/digital-slr-camera-comparisons.html
http://www.best-digital-slr-cameras.com/compare_digital_slr_camera.htm
Bill

muck
12-05-2009, 03:08 PM
Definitely check out www.dpreview.com if you haven't already.
I have the Nikon D90 and its been great for us.

Buy the best lenses you can afford!!

Tom R
12-05-2009, 03:21 PM