PDA

View Full Version : phyto reactors/ato's/dosers

sparky
11-21-2009, 11:09 PM
HI guys I'm new to can reef so please excuse me if i do this wrong! I have a 75 gallon reef tank and am about to move to bigger tank looking for advice on phyto reactors. Are they any good any thing I need to know? Also auto top offs is there one that can be hooked up directly to ro/di feed? and last who's got the best doser? thanks Sparky.

whatcaneyedo
12-07-2009, 06:35 PM
Why do you feel you need to culture and feed phytoplankton? What are you keeping? Many people who culture phyto just use empty pop bottles, an air pump and light... take a look around the internet and you'll find lots of information. To my knowledge the only phyto reactor you can buy in Canada is by Aquamedic and its over $100.

Hooking any ATO system directly to any RO/DI is a great way to wipe out your whole tank if something gets 'stuck on'. No one recommends this.

Those Profilux dosers look pretty cool to me and they seem to be quite popular. But I personally use a calcium reactor.

sparky
12-08-2009, 02:22 AM
thanks thats great I'd heard that piping the ro directly was bad too! so thats out! and a calcium reactor is a better way? perfect i look into it! Sparky

sparky
12-08-2009, 02:32 AM
HI guys I just had my new tank show up and the hole sizes for the bulkhead dosn't fit anyone know what the standard size hole for a 3/4 bulkhead and 1/2 bulkhead is?

whatcaneyedo
12-08-2009, 02:41 AM
thanks thats great I'd heard that piping the ro directly was bad too! so thats out! and a calcium reactor is a better way? perfect i look into it! Sparky

I wouldnt say that a Calcium Reactor is a better way, its what I use and I have my reasons why. Theres a poll on this forum right now showing preference towards 2-part dosing for the majority of people.