PDA

View Full Version : moving into new tank

randy123
11-18-2009, 09:20 AM
Hi, I was wondering if anyone has any advice for moving into a new tank. I've just upgraded, and the plan is to move 100% of the animals and LR into the new one. I'm new to the hobby (and ugrading already...scary) and don't have a whole lot of experience yet.

I am wary of increasing the bioload in the new tank too quickly, but I want to move the fish as quickly as safely possible, because they (especially my regal blue tang who lives in a cave) will be quite stressed by the rock disappearing from the tank. My poor old overstocked tank might go south rather quickly without its biofilter too.

I used seachem "stability" with great success last time, but there is much more at stake this time...

mark
11-18-2009, 12:37 PM
Would be ideal if could have the new tank setup first, then move the stuff across but not necessary. I have moved across town and set the original tank back up (after a good clean) so basically was moving into a virgin tank. Here's from then for an idea:

I moved my FOWLR 75g across town and had no problems but had the advantage of being able to have 80-90g of fresh heated SW available at the new house. Another plus, I was able to do it a few days before the house move so had lots of time. Really would have complicated things if I had to pack the couch etc at the same time.

Drained about 25g of the original tank water into 5g pails (one for fish). Put the LR into large plastic tubs, covered with tank water. Caught the fish and placed into one of the 5g pails. Was going to scoop up the top inch of the DSB to re-establish the new but decided to go BB so didn't bother. Drained and cleaned out the rest of the tank.