PDA

View Full Version : Tips to avoid leaks or flood in FOWLR tank

xl2000
11-12-2009, 03:49 PM
Hi, I am new to the hobby and I am planning to setup a FOWLR system at some point but still in the planning phase.

One thing that came out from some of the research I made was that some people get leaks or flood from either
their sumps or fishtanks do to different reasons (Poweroutage, siphon from main tank, not enough room in sump etc...)

I was wondering if there was a way to build the system to avoid having flood or leaks as much as possible.

For instance, does a pre drilled tank with a sump still could flood ? I tried to do research and could not find
anything to provide tips on what to do to totally avoid floods.

At some point I was even looking at something like the Red Sea Max 250 as everything is in the same tank and therefore would remove the flooding potential, but would not be suited for bigger fishes and is more a reef tank than a FOWLR.

Could you guys direct me on how this could be achieved.

Thanks

globaldesigns
11-12-2009, 04:09 PM
In my case, I have a 180G DT with a 105G refuge, the display has 2 overflows on either side with Standpipes. What this means is that if the return pump fails, only a certain amount of water will flow out of the main tank into my refuge. With the refuge, it isn't full, maybe half, so it has more than enough room for this display tank water in that case.

Also make sure to match your return pumps with your flow, or have valves so you can adjust this. When I first got my tank, I regretted it, the first night I had water flowing over the top of the main tank on my head. NOT FUN!!! I couldn't get things matched up.

Over the next few days all was good, but one night I couldn't sleep, when I went out to check the tank, it was just starting to again flow over the top of the display. I ran, swearing and opening all valves wide open....