PDA

View Full Version : Ich ???

edmfishguy
11-01-2009, 01:00 AM
I'm just very new at the salt water thing , I've done fresh water for years...but last night I picked up a yellow tang and for the first four hour the tang was in the tank my three striped damsel was bullying him.. I relocated to damsel to a friends tank and this afternoon I noticed that my tang has sighs of Ich.. some one was telling me that I should just keep and eye on it for a couple of days... SHOLD I WORRY????? I don't have QT tanks set up but I do have an 15 gal that I can set up....

simplycoral
11-01-2009, 01:41 AM
If you don't have any coral in the tank, then it would be fairly easy to treat.. If you do, then you can try some of the commercial treatments that are reef safe, although their effectiveness is always a debate.. I have used Kordon's Ich Attack successfully but double dosed it.. I know others that have used it without success.

I have seen it come and go on it's own but rarely.. Other methods of treatment are freshwater dips, hypo salinity & raising the temperature.

Others will offer more advice i'm sure :smile:

Simon..

I'm just very new at the salt water thing , I've done fresh water for years...but last night I picked up a yellow tang and for the first four hour the tang was in the tank my three striped damsel was bullying him.. I relocated to damsel to a friends tank and this afternoon I noticed that my tang has sighs of Ich.. some one was telling me that I should just keep and eye on it for a couple of days... SHOLD I WORRY????? I don't have QT tanks set up but I do have an 15 gal that I can set up....

naesco
11-01-2009, 01:19 AM
Feed it garlic extract (Garlic Extreme)
Soak flake or spirulina disks in the garlic extract. Feed only garlic soaked food'

kien
11-01-2009, 01:22 AM