PDA

View Full Version : New to the SW world

Reef_surfer
10-25-2009, 12:46 AM
Hey guys im new to the world of salt water and forums in general. i just set up a 33g tank not to long ago, and im just looking for some help with the lighting part. I have an unusal tank size as its 30" long and im not finding very many fixtures, i dont want a CF because of the coral i want to put into my tank and i think a MH setup would be to much for my tank. and the LFS's are telling me i need at least a 4 bulb setup. im not in any hurry to get a fixture as my tank is still in the cycling process. so any other info would be great thanks!

fishytime
10-25-2009, 01:23 AM
Welcome to Canreef.

BlueAbyss
10-25-2009, 03:01 AM
:welcome:

I just posted in your tank journal about buying water :smile:

Hmm, by CF do you mean compact fluorescent, like the screw in type? Or do you mean PC, power compact fluorescent? If you mean PC, there are a number of people growing coral just fine under them. Also, what makes you say that you think MH would be too much for your tank? I have MH over my 10 gallon, and I can honestly say I wouldn't be happy with anything else (well, maybe LEDs :lol: ).

Are you planning on hanging the fixture, or are you looking for a hood, or... ?

Reef_surfer
10-25-2009, 08:39 AM
well i would like a hood, as i have nothing covering my tank. Im still trying to figure out what i can use becuase i have a hang on skimmer so takes up alot of space.

as for the lighting i read that the MH can bleach or be harmful to LPS. and i was thinking of fabricating an adjustable bracket stand of the backside of the tank that can hang lights as i cant hang from the ceiling so i can still adjust the height of the light. so far i found a couple 30" light T5 HO fixures that would do the trick. i will put pics up tomorrow to show what i am working with

mseepman
10-25-2009, 02:29 PM
Welcome to Canreef and Saltwater!