PDA

View Full Version : Reef tank electrical requirements

Palmer
10-11-2009, 07:09 PM
Hi everyone,

I was reading a SW reefkeeping book and it recomended having dedicated electrical set up for a reef tank. I am no electrician but I know the requirements should vary a lot depending on the size of tank and components you are going to keep. I am planning a tank that will be 60 G with a 20 G sump. I am going to use a 250 W MH unit (one bulb) that also has some fluorescent lighing (not HO/T5.) Assuming a couple of powerheads and a skimmer/heater etc etc could I run it off of a typical electrical outlet?

I wasn't sure if the book I was reading was speaking in the context of much larger tanks since it does not say.

Happy Turkey Day,

Palmer

Skimmerking
10-11-2009, 07:19 PM
ya hey man 1 should be plenty for what you are going to use it for , i had one to for my 65 gal setup with a single 250w... and 2x 300w heaters and skimmer and t-5 lighting with the 250 MH plus a mag 12 for a return

Delphinus
10-11-2009, 07:41 PM
Yes you can run it off a single outlet but be wary about anything else on the circuit. It's amazing how fast things can add up.

e46er
10-11-2009, 09:24 PM
that wont be a problem

on my bedroom circuit i have a 33G freshwater planted tank
my 120G salt tank running 2-150W MH a flatscreen tv computer and a minifridge on a 15amp breaker and all runs fine mind you my heaters dont run that often the lights and pumps keep the water around 78

bvlester
10-11-2009, 09:36 PM
be sure to use a ground faul (GFCI)receptical they can be installed by anyone and they are no harder than installing a regular receptical. It just insures that if any moisture is present at the receptical, or there is a short it will trip the little trip fuse you then find the problem and reset the fuse. i use one that has a little light that comes on if it has been triped. The ones I use are from cooper it is a ShockSentry GFCI.

Bill

MrsBugmaster
10-11-2009, 10:19 PM