PDA

View Full Version : need suggestions!

ryan_p
08-20-2003, 12:08 AM
Hello everyone,

I have been moving along at a comfortable pace to get my system up and going so I can avoid alot of common problems that tend to be made from rushing into this hobby. I think I might have hit a bit of a brick wall though. I'm hoping someone has a solution. For those unfamiliar with my equipment, I have a 46 G tank that I plan on making into a reef tank (still some things left to be purchased though). I am in a basement suite that I will only occupy for another 2 - 3 years because I am a student at BCIT. I want to do this right so I asked for an electrician to come give me a quote for installing 2 dedicated GFCI outlets. The tank is going to be set up in the same room as the circuit panel but on the opposite wall. The Electrician came a gave me a quote alright!!! $657!!! For 2 outlets. Being a student, I am not the richest guy, and I have budgeted for about $1500 not including livestock. This is an extra cost that was not budgeted for and not in my wildest dreams would I have thought 2 GFCI outlets would cost that much. I have put almost 2 months research into this hobby this summer and don't want to be stopped by this. Any suggestions? I guess I could place my tank right beside the panel and only ask for one to be installed and see if that cuts the cost down to around $100 - $150... I dunno. Will I be able to only use one dedicated GFCI outlet. I will have 2 PH's (maxijet 1200's), 1 200W heater, protein skimmer, and 2 light strips (192W) to plug in... I think thats it for what I have planned. I would like to have room on the circuit to plug a sump pump in when I have more money to incorporate a sump. I thought I could use a normal house circuit for the lighting strips as they won't be in direct contact with the water. Will that work? I wanted two because someone had said that they seperated their equipment in case of the GFI tripping so it wouldn't wipe out the tank. Sorry to ma