PDA

View Full Version : Contemplating a switch to T5's

impreza
09-26-2009, 12:28 AM
Hi,

I currently have a 250W MH pendant over my 28G nano cube and find that it runs a bit too hot for my liking.

I'm looking at the 24" Sunlight Supply Teklight 4-bulb unit. Anyone have experiences with this fixture? I am new to T5's and don't really know which fixture is considered to be the "best" - at a reasonable price.

Also, who carries these fixtures at the best price? (Either online or local in Calgary).

Thanks!

lorenz0
09-26-2009, 01:18 AM
T5's are great but i would not switch up a 250mh for a 4 bulb T5 set up. Try looking into a 6 bulb fixture due to the output. As for picking them up, red coral brings them in.

impreza
09-26-2009, 01:27 AM
^Thanks. I can't find any 6 bulb 24" fixtures though.....

intarsiabox
09-26-2009, 02:06 AM
ATI T5 HO fixtures have 6 bulb models. Reef Geek carries them. They are more expensive than Teks though. The Sunpower models are cheaper than the Powermodules, seem the same except for less fans.

Canadian
09-26-2009, 02:48 AM
Here you go. One of the board's sponsors sells ATI Sunpower fixtures:

http://progressivereef.com/t5-lighting.php

I've had a 6x24W Sunpower for about 9 months now and am very happy with it. Dollar for dollar I'd say a 6x24W Sunpower would be your best bet for switching to T5's. Unfortunately I bought mine from ReefGeek when the dollar sucked and paid way more than Progressive Reef is selling them for.

impreza
09-26-2009, 02:52 AM
^Thanks. Had no idea those even existed, and wow, they look good!

Are there any Canadian stores that sell these? I don't mind the price difference, I just want to do it right the first time!

Stones
09-26-2009, 02:59 AM
Progressive Reef is Canadian so you'd be much better off giving them the business and avoiding the extra shipping/duty had you ordered from Reef Geek.