PDA

View Full Version : Controller setups

mseepman
09-22-2009, 11:35 PM
So I'm getting very close to starting my build thread for a new tank in a new house. My plan is to have the tank upstairs and the fish room downstairs along with the sump, fuge, frag tank and water change setups.

My question is, for those of you that have controllers, how do you set them up to run items both on the display and down in a fish room? I obviously would want it to control my lighting and possibly pumps in the display, but I would also like it to control dosing and lighting on my tanks in the fishroom...is there any way to do this?

For some reason, despite my searches, I can't find anyone mentioning this on any forum.

Thanks.

Binare
09-22-2009, 11:52 PM
I've thought about how I'd do this too. Being an electrician I decided to to install a receptacle behind my tank. Splitting the plug and fed from the fish room into a junction box. Two cabtire cords made up going from the box and plugging into my controller. That gives me 2 controlled outlets... One for lights and one for pumps upstairs.

mseepman
09-22-2009, 11:54 PM
Okay, this is what I was thinking too...I think....could you re-phrase in more laymans terms?

Are you saying you would put two outlets by the display which would terminate in the fishroom in a "closed loop" where they would be male ends which would plug into the controller powerbar?

whatcaneyedo
09-22-2009, 11:56 PM
I use extension cords so that I can have everything that I want automated plugged into the same ACIII powerbar (a DC8).

mseepman
09-22-2009, 11:59 PM
I realize that extensions are the easiest solution but I'm hesitant to have them hidden in the walls. I also like the professional look of finishing the job with outlets of some kind.

Albertan22
09-23-2009, 12:19 AM