PDA

View Full Version : Sand Sifting Creatures?

Eb0la11
09-14-2009, 12:11 AM
Just wondering what are some good sand sifting creatures I can add to my reef tank?

Right now I have 2 brittle stars, some nassarius snails, turbo snails, a lawnmower blenny, some BL hermits and 2 clowns. Im just starting out. Thats all Ive got in a 165G tank so far.

intarsiabox
09-14-2009, 12:27 AM
There is a sand sifting starfish and sand sifting gobies that work well.

Eb0la11
09-14-2009, 12:29 AM
What kind of goby and star? These are reef safe?

xtreme
09-14-2009, 12:37 AM
Orange Diamond gobies are good sandsifters.

Leah
09-14-2009, 12:38 AM
I have a white sandsifting sea star in my 95 gal

mike31154
09-14-2009, 12:49 AM
My female Maroon Clownfish does an exceptional job of excavating the substrate below her anemone.

Leah
09-14-2009, 12:49 AM
I also have a Diamond gobie for a week or so my tank was pretty cloudy it has settled done a lot know. Cool fish.

BlueWorldAquatic
09-14-2009, 12:50 AM
Brown bar aka dragon goby.

Ken

Myka
09-14-2009, 01:03 AM
Be aware that white sand sifting starfish are excellent predators, which means they are very good at stripping the sandbed of most life! Some people don't mind that, others don't want that.

My favourite sand sifters are Rainford's Gobies (also very good algae eaters), and various small Conches (Strawberry, Fighting, Orange Lip, etc). Be aware that Rainford's eat a lot, and will likely never take prepared foods.

whatcaneyedo
09-14-2009, 01:47 AM
Sea cucumbers work alright cleaning small areas of the sandbed at a time. I've had a tiger tail for several years without incident.

Van-rookie
09-14-2009, 02:11 AM
I got a dragon goby today, was told by the lfs that its very good for sand sifting. Last time I look at my tank he was working already

banditpowdercoat
09-14-2009, 02:32 AM
I definately need to look into something for my tanks. What's good with a Porc Puffer????

BlueWorldAquatic
09-14-2009, 02:44 AM