PDA

View Full Version : Need a recomedation CA reactor or 2 part dosing?

subman
09-05-2009, 05:59 PM
I'm looking for advice on a calcium system. I have a Profilux controlling the system and I could add dosing pumps (which I am leaning toward) or a calcium reactor. Any opinions would be appreciated or some good links for reasearch either way.
Thanks

intarsiabox
09-05-2009, 07:12 PM
I have been 2 part dosing on my tank but it is only 20g. On a 90g tank such as yours a set of 32oz bottles of B-Ionic would only last about 40 days using the recommended starting dosage. Depending on demand this could easily become less than a month. My point is that it may be a lot more expensive dosing in the long run than using a reactor. I have no experience using reactors so this is only something for you to think about.

o.c.d.
09-05-2009, 08:07 PM
I started with the aqua medic doser and very finicky many little adjustment and I seemed to always messing with it. I finally purcased a PM calcium reactor and I'm very happy with the purchase. Hardly touch it, once dialed in every 3 months or so I get a new tank filled and exchange for 10 bucks. I also have noticed very good and stable water params. Lots of Coraline Algae growth and my refugium produces macro about twice as fast, making nutrient export more efficient. I really would not bother with 2 part any more.

mark
09-05-2009, 09:21 PM
also running a reactor and have to say once I figured they're just for maintaining levels (not to boost), can't see why I would change as pretty much set and forget. I'll still check my levels but it goes months without having to touch, then it's only to bump the drip rate.

Have though thought about going to a dosing pump but only just for something different, not because of any problems with the reactor.

subman
09-05-2009, 09:48 PM
Hmm I love the set and forget! I guess I'll start looking for a CA reactor.
Thanks everyone

o.c.d.
09-05-2009, 10:09 PM