PDA

View Full Version : ELOS Aqua Test KH

lx5litre
09-01-2009, 05:22 AM
I have a new test kit for elos aqua test KH KH Alkalinity Test-Carbonate Hardness.
I did a test but was wondering if anyone can clarify this step.
Each drop of reagent corresponds to one degree of hardness. The total number if the drops used equals the total hardness of the solution in dKH (German carbonate hardness) for example 8 drops = 4 dKH. The steps seem to contradict eachother. In total I used 14 drops, so is the final result 14dKH as the first step, or if you use the example my final result would be 7dKH.
There is probably a simple solution to this but you have to remember I am a newbie.
Thanks,

lobsterboy
09-01-2009, 05:27 AM
there were a batch of test kits that had wrong directions.

the red insert KH card is correct.

1drop = .05 dkh.

12 drops = 6dkh.

globaldesigns
09-01-2009, 10:44 PM
I use the same kit, what you state is correct... I actually use 2.5 ml of water and then test, then take the number of drops to be actual... It saves alot of regeant making the kit last longer and over time I have found that to be as accurate as doing the 5ml recommended procedure.

Koresample
09-02-2009, 04:26 AM
I use the same kit, what you state is correct... I actually use 2.5 ml of water and then test, then take the number of drops to be actual... It saves alot of regeant making the kit last longer and over time I have found that to be as accurate as doing the 5ml recommended procedure.

+1 my instructions say that when you use 2.5ml it is one dKH per drop or 1/2 dKH per drop when you use 5ml of water.

Johnny Reefer
09-02-2009, 04:36 AM
I can't believe these test kits, with the contradictory instructions, are still available on store shelves. This has been going on a long time. I woulda thought they'd all be sold by now :rolleyes:.

globaldesigns
09-02-2009, 06:34 PM
I agree, the instructions suck....