PDA

View Full Version : Lighting Question

Agranized
08-21-2009, 07:22 PM
I'm going to try and set up my first planted freshwater tank and need a little advice on lighting requirements. My aquarium is 30" deep and I'm just looking for mainly low light plants to fill in the landscape and provide refuge for fish. I am wondering if T5's would do or T5 HO's or do I need to go the halide route? I'm leary about halide's as I'm running an acrylic aquarium and the heat aspect is worrisome. How many watts?
Ideas?

sphelps
08-21-2009, 07:44 PM
I'm no expert on freshwater put I was under the impression you could get away with a couple T8s for most plants.

Agranized
08-21-2009, 10:36 PM
What about LED lighting?

trilinearmipmap
08-21-2009, 11:10 PM
There is no need for halides even for high light plants.

You could get a 2 x 24" T5 retrofit kit.

Then if you want to upgrade to a high-light, CO2 injected system later you could add on two more 24" T5's.

Myka
08-21-2009, 11:18 PM
For a 30" depth I would think that you would want to use T5NOs for low light plants. Halides are used on planted tanks at times, but usually only for exceptionally deep, high CO2, high light demand plants.

ElGuappo
08-22-2009, 12:38 AM
imo a single tube t8 may be enough, at least for low light plants

PuffLuv
08-22-2009, 02:38 AM
It definitely depends on what plants you want to keep. For plants that aren't very light-demanding (java, crypt, anubias, water sprite, etc.), I'd recommend a double T5HO (~3W/gal). However if you plan on keeping some cabomba, pennywort, cress, swords, etc., I would get at least a 4-bulb T5HO(~6W/gal) and use CO2 if you want them to thrive.:biggrin:

Myka
08-22-2009, 02:12 PM
He would be struggling with algae if he used 2xT5HO without injecting CO2.

sphelps
08-22-2009, 03:11 PM