PDA

View Full Version : Skydiving

aquatic_rice
08-14-2009, 04:58 PM
Anyone have any experiences with skydiving places in/around calgary?
I've never done it before so just thought I'd ask anyones opinion on places? Things to look for in choosing a place etc.?

Thanks

Pescador
08-14-2009, 05:34 PM
Years ago I jumped with the Calgary Parachute Club at the Drumheller Airport, the views of the canyon were pretty cool.
They had their ground school in Calgary.

parkinsn
08-14-2009, 07:06 PM
I have never been but I would like too. I have heard some horror stories about the Sky Dive Ranch, they have had a few deaths. I had a buddy go there he said it was kind of sketchey but he is still alive so it cant be that bad. Other than that im not really much help. I think if you go tandem the first time you will be ok.

blueyota
08-14-2009, 07:27 PM
i have gone twice now in bisiker out by airdrie and it seems safe and its a crazy rush from 9,500 feet 40 secs of freefall you dont even feel the guy on your back (except in the plane ) im 6'7" so a little less room then most... I just jumped two weeks ago its such a blast...any way i would recommend it to any one who loves a good rush....oh its around 298$ for a tandem jump from 9500'

sitandwatch
08-14-2009, 07:30 PM
The Sky Dive Ranch does not exist anymore it was sold may years ago, I used to jump there.

You could check out dropzone.com and do a search for dive sites in the Calgary area some have reviews that you can look at.

aquatic_rice
08-15-2009, 09:58 PM
Thanks everyone for the info.

Bin doin some research and the skydive ranch seemed to be pretty sketchy. Seems the former owner had some questionable practices:
http://www.cbc.ca/canada/story/2005/03/23/skydive-050323.html
http://www.dropzone.com/news/Edmontonskydiverdiesinfi.shtml

But then again no risk, no reward.