PDA

View Full Version : BioCube 8 ballast went...

ner'T'
08-03-2009, 07:30 PM
My 1.5yr old ballast, (Actinic), seems to have died. Does anyone know of a good route to replace it? Another stock one, or wiring in a new ballast from a light store?

Thanks for any input

Ron99
08-03-2009, 07:46 PM
Go to nanotuners.com and they have a video with instructions as to how to wire up their replacement ballast kits. You can probably find all the parts you need locally at places like rp electronics and an electrical/lighting supply place for better ballasts. That's what I did when the ballast on my Biocube went.

ner'T'
08-04-2009, 05:51 AM
Thanks for the info Ron99.

Did you buy locally? Does this ballast seem like it would work?

http://www.ballastwise.com/item.asp?PID=59&FID=16&level=1

Thanks again!

Ron99
08-05-2009, 03:08 PM
I'm not sure about that ballast. I'm not really an electrical expert; I just muddle through :lol:

I went with a workhorse ballast as it was capable of running both bulbs if the second ballast went. I think I bought it at Torbram Electrical Supply. I am sure you can find an electrical supply shop near you and RP Electronics is in Burnaby which is where I bought the project box and misc. supplies.

gbeef
08-07-2009, 04:05 PM
could be a fuse in the ballast i herd those blow.. mine blew 2 months in... and i just when to my LFS and got it replaced.

Ron99
08-07-2009, 04:26 PM
The biocube ballasts are completely sealed and unserviceable. There is no fuse to change. If you open the ballast box you can see that they have filled it with tar/resin. I think that is part of the problem as the electronic components are prone to overheat.

ner'T'
08-11-2009, 01:01 AM
Hi,

Ron99 I picked up a 18w x 2 ballast today from B C Fluorescent Sales, in East Van, for $40, (The other place I tried was $65).

It can drive one, or both bulbs... Now I just have to make sense of all the wires in the cord that differ in colour from the ones coming outta the ballast:neutral: