PDA

View Full Version : New Tank Advice

steveg
07-17-2009, 05:36 PM
Hi there, fantastic forum, it has been great to look through and see the level of interest in reefkeeping here!

I am new to Calgary and am looking for some advice on a new tank. I have called a few of the stores and seem to have a huge range of prices and experiences.

Can anyone recommend a particular store or alternatively advise me of which company not to use. While price is important I would rather not get set up and loose the system due to poor workmanship.

I would really appreciate advice as it seems a lot different here to over the pond in England where I have just come from.

Looking forward to your comments

Many thanks:mrgreen:

Aquattro
07-17-2009, 05:46 PM
Welcome to the board. Calgary has a good selection of great shops, and you'll get lots of opinions on which is good and which isn't, and most will contradict the others :)
I'm sure you'll get a few PMs with experiences, but the best bet would be to get a second opinion here for any advice that is questionable.
Unfortunatley our board rules don't really allow thorough store recomendations, but many of the local shops are part of our satisfaction polls, so you might want to browse them for popular stores.

wickedfrags
07-17-2009, 05:51 PM
Welcome to the board. IMO always a good idea to check out a few local systems before you finalizing any design and equipment decisions. Hang around the LFS (and of course Canreef) and see some of the available equipment in action.

edikpok
07-17-2009, 07:10 PM
you can but a used system (from canreef/ craigslist / buyandsell...)- cheaper and might be already established....

ponokareefer
07-17-2009, 07:24 PM
Welcome to the board. Calgary has a good selection of great shops, and you'll get lots of opinions on which is good and which isn't, and most will contradict the others :)