PDA

View Full Version : what is this worm? Parasite?

c_scherer123
07-10-2009, 03:50 AM
I got some corals recently (my first - I am new at reefing) and the mushrooms have been slightly curled since I got them. I thought my lighting was too strong and moved them into the shade. Tonight I noticed several white, curly worms on the underside of the mushroom cap. (posted links as I consider to picts too large to post without bothering people with 800x600 screen settings).
What are they and how do I get rid of them? They are worms right? They are attached pretty well as I tried to remove one to get a closer shot (and failed...).
http://i445.photobucket.com/albums/qq176/c_scherer123/aquarium/mushroomworm1.jpg
http://i445.photobucket.com/albums/qq176/c_scherer123/aquarium/mushroomworm.jpg

My water is testing in at near perfect levels, I tested because when something looks out of whack I immediately suspect the water quality.

christyf5
07-10-2009, 04:08 AM
I don't think those are parasites, I think they are the mushroom itself. When they start to go downhill they appear. I'm not sure what they are, whether they're something structural or perhaps a vascular system or something. One of the first time I had mushrooms die in my tank they melted down and all that was left were those white curly things.

Aquattro
07-10-2009, 04:09 AM
No idea, never seen those before. You could try a quick fresh water dip, that might dislodge them. Or not worry about it unless you notice them doing something bad.

Aquattro
07-10-2009, 04:09 AM
No idea, never seen those before. You could try a quick fresh water dip, that might dislodge them. Or not worry about it unless you notice them doing something bad.

Ok, Christy knows more than I! :)

christyf5
07-10-2009, 04:13 AM
Ok, Christy knows more than I! :)

LOL, thats doubtful Brad, I guess i just know mushrooms. Wait, no, thats not what I meant.... :razz:

Aquattro
07-10-2009, 04:16 AM