PDA

View Full Version : Can't stop the losses

Jason McK
07-02-2009, 06:47 PM
Ok I've come to my breaking point.

I've been losing SPS for the last 2 months. Then Last night my 7 year old Hammer Coral is turning to mush and dieing as well.

I've checked everything
My water is good
Ammonia 0.0
Nitrites 0.0
Nitrates 0.0
Phosphates >0.03
PH 8.0 -> 8.4
Temp 79.0
SG 35 or 1.026
CA 430
ALk 8 DKH
MAG 1350

I have checked for AEFW and Red bugs
I have stopped the use of Zeovit
Installed a 40W UV sterilizer
I'm running 1L of GFO and 1L of Carbon
performing 2X 40G water changes a week

I've lost 95% of all SPS and now it appears as though my LPS are next.
Through out the this whole situation my Hammer has not extended it's polyps fully.
Fish inverts and Clams all seem unaffected

Looking for any suggestions

Thanks
Jason

i have crabs
07-02-2009, 09:20 PM
maybe some bacteria problem going on, not really anyway of knowing i dont think, and im shure any kind of treatment would f-up your cycle big time

christyf5
07-02-2009, 09:21 PM
Man Jason, that just sucks hard :neutral:. I was going to suggest maybe a bacterial infection but you're running UV which you would think would keep it at bay or at least at low levels. Have you tried dipping your corals? Dipping them and holding them in another tank to see if its the tank or the corals?

Just throwing stuff out there.... 151 views and no comments, thought I should offer something.

globaldesigns
07-02-2009, 09:22 PM
Jason, sorry to hear about your troubles...

I don't know what to suggest, as your parameters seem good. How old are your bulbs for lighting?

Snaz
07-02-2009, 09:24 PM
Tested for Copper? Reaching here but maybe an errant bolt or other metallic bit is leaching Cu into the system?

Aquattro
07-02-2009, 09:27 PM
The first thing that I read here is that you've done a lot to try and stop it. Maybe too much change too quickly?