PDA

View Full Version : SWC Protein skimmer

Skimmin
06-02-2009, 01:47 AM
I'm in the market for a new protein skimmer and checking out some options. Does anyone have any suggestions from experience on a skimmer that works exceptionally well for $1000 or under? I have been looking at the SWC 350 extreme which seems like a good choice for the price point but I have no experience with these. Any experienced advice would be muchly appreciated. Thanks.

pterfloth
06-02-2009, 02:00 AM
I have an MSX 200 Extreme which I love. It is really a relabelled SWC 200 Extreme. It even has a big SWC sticker on it. It performs extremely well and I think it is well designed and constructed. The weak point is the Sicce pump. They can be hard to get started after turning them off. I don't ever turn off my skimmer, so it is not an issue. Other than the pump being hard to start, it is a great skimmer and tremendous value for the price. I think a lot of skimmers are ridiculously over-priced. The SWC has a good design and makes a great froth.

SWC is from Winnipeg, so you would be supporting a Canadian company, another plus for me.

Here is a link to the MSX skimmer club from RC. Lots of discussion you can peruse.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1614133

Good luck in your decision.

Stones
06-02-2009, 02:18 AM
I've heard good things about the new Royal Exclusive Alpha cone skimmers. Same basic design as the SWC cone skimmers but with Bubble King build quality and powered by a red dragon pump. All parts are CNC machined instead of injection molded and the cone is seamless cast acrylic. I don't think they are being carried by any Canadian distributors yet but Premium Aquatics has them on sale right now with free shipping to Canada. The Alpha 250 is on for $999 US right now so this would be the time to buy. They also have a 170 and 200 model on for under $1000 as well depending on your system size.

The Codfather
06-02-2009, 02:29 AM