PDA

View Full Version : Red Deer Reefers

yeahitsgotahemi
06-01-2009, 10:14 PM
Hey Everyone, Im new to the hobby and plan on being in for a long time. I live in sylvan lake. What im wondering if there is anyone that does frag trades and stuff around here? I will be running metal halide lighting and actinics, so i should have lots of juice for growing them. I am just currently debating what kind of skimmer i wanna buy. I would like to stick under 400 bucks for a unit and wondering if there is any suggestions? I have seen on Bulk Reef Supply there are a few nice units.

Anyways, if there is anyone around red deer with some good advice and whatnot i would be happy to hear from ya.

xtreme
06-01-2009, 10:19 PM
How big is your tank and sump? That will help determine what size/type of skimmer you will need.

yeahitsgotahemi
06-01-2009, 10:24 PM
My tank is 90 gallon, and my sump is about 30 gallon. Im thinking with the 70 pounds of live rock im going to be getting and whatnot i should have about 100 gallons or so of actual water in the tank. I am not to concerned about the price as i said i dont want to been a thousand deep into a skimmer, but im flexible on the unit. My hoodlight is on its way in. The coralife aquapro 2x250

The unit i think im going to buy is the Octopus Extreme 160

Slick Fork
06-02-2009, 01:31 AM
Hi there,

For your skimmer, this is what I'm running. My tank is 110 gallons with about 30 or 40 gallons in the sump
http://www.jlaquatics.com/product/vt-psin180/Vertex+IN-180+In-Sump+Protein+Skimmer+-+Up+to+180+Gallons.html

As far as frags go, there's a few of us around that have some occasionally. If you need, I have some liverock that I've decided to sell. Haven't got around to weighing it yet so I don't know how much there is yet.

Check out the Red Deer sub-board as Sharuq01 is putting together a meeting next week I think

yeahitsgotahemi
06-03-2009, 12:12 AM