PDA

View Full Version : Working with Tiles??

banditpowdercoat
05-25-2009, 02:05 AM
On this days off, I want to make a ledge around my tank. 6" wide, dor my morning coffee, or afternoon Beer while staring at the fish.. I was thinking topping it with black ceramic tile. BUT, I know nothing of working with tile. Is it something I should try? Or will making a 6"w ledge cost me more for tools than it's worth? I could use Arborite, but I think tile would look much nicer :D

How do I do tiles? Anyone wana give me some pointers?? Be much obliged.

Thx in advance

golf nut
05-25-2009, 02:14 AM
Is there a ledge around the tank at the moment?

banditpowdercoat
05-25-2009, 02:17 AM
No Paul. wasnt originally planed for, so I'll have to built the ledge first. Thats the easy part. Making it look good, Well, me and finishing carpentry don't see eye to eye HAHAHA

mike31154
05-25-2009, 02:20 AM
I'm no expert, but I've done tile work before and it's pretty simple really. If you have the space and can source the proper size tile, there should be minimal cutting involved. That's where the expense and tricky part usually comes in, when you need to buy a tile cutter, although they can be rented and for what you're doing, you don't need a heavy duty model. Generally floor tile needs an exterior grade plywood or concrete as a backing, but if you use wall tile, you can probably make do with most any backing. It won't be as durable though. Other than that, a few trowels, maybe spacers and you're good to go. Preparation, measuring and layout take the most time. If you have that down, the actual laying is pretty straight forward.

I'm thinking of using granite tile when I build my room divider tank set up. Tearing out existing kitchen counter and building tank support with granite tile perimeter. The remainder of the kitchen counter will then get the same treatment.

If I'm not mistaken, my2rotties husband is in the tile business, should be some great advice to be had from them.

karazy