PDA

View Full Version : What size plumbing?

baker_jeff
04-20-2009, 09:10 PM
Sorry for the total noob question, this is my first time plumbing. I need to buy a holesaw and bulkhead fittings asap here, so I need some quick advice.

The tank is a 24x24x18 cube. Going to have 2 drains and 1 return.

1", or 1 1/2" plumbing?

Thanks,

Jeff

Ryan
04-20-2009, 09:24 PM
How much GPH are you going to be using is what the deciding factor will be. If it were me I would run 1.5" main with a 1" back up drain.

parkinsn
04-20-2009, 09:25 PM
if you go bigger you can always upgrade flow later if you have to. just my 2 cents.

xtreme
04-20-2009, 09:45 PM
Chances are you will need a couple different size hole saws and bulkheads as return lines are generally smaller than your drains. Your return line will depend on the size of your return pump outlet. I would think 2 - 1" drains should be enough as you shouldn't need to have more than a few hundred GPH flowing through your sump, based on a 45 gallon display. Any upgrades to flow within the display tank won't effect your overflows.

loveless
04-20-2009, 10:03 PM
I agree. I have a 1.5" drain and a 1" return line on my 180gal. I use a mag 12 with around 8-900 gph through the sump.

sphelps
04-20-2009, 11:35 PM
The bigger the better for both lines, more flow and will allow for future upgrades. If you got the ability to run 1.5" for both, go for it.

Myka
04-21-2009, 02:58 AM
The return size depends on the pump, you should find a reccommended size for your particular pump in the user manual. Many manufacturers recommend a pipe size twice the diameter of the in/outputs on the pump. For drains I would use 1". Are you doing Herbie drains?

mark
04-21-2009, 04:16 AM
A single 1" drain is good for ~600gph and a 1.5" for around 1200gph (remembering if planning a Herbie, the second drain is normally dry and only flows in the emergency situation).