PDA

View Full Version : what size of sump for a 75 gallon

mossman604
04-16-2009, 07:22 PM
what size of sump for a 75 gallon, and do i need a protien skimmer, the 1 i bought has bio balls miracle mud green alge a heater and thats it, is this ok
it is huge like 4ft long, too big for me. id like to build a small 1 for under the tank in the cabinate area. any thoughts. im bringing the tank home within two weeks and want to be prepared. thanks

SeaHorse_Fanatic
04-16-2009, 07:26 PM
Personally, I like big sumps. If you can fit it, that 4' sump would give you lots of options. Otherwise, I would try to fit a 3' breeder tank under your display for a sump.

mossman604
04-16-2009, 07:32 PM
what kind of options

Dr. Zoos
04-16-2009, 08:08 PM
i have a 36x18 under my 75, it leaves very little room under my stand, but for sure the bigger you can go the better it is.

trouble
04-16-2009, 08:10 PM
im new at this game so by no means am i an expert i probably shouldn't even be voicing an opinion yet but i've been in the process of organizing an overflow and sump for my 72g, and i think the options he's referring to are things like wether or not you want to keep a refugeium, some live rock or sand, with enough space you can keep most of your electronics down there pumps, protein skimmers and heaters. you can set your baffles up with more of them so the water passes through them in such a manner that you don't get as many micro bubbles(still haven't quite figured out why their bad), or so you can run certain filter media between the baffles. more space allows you the room to keep certain live stock down there you dnt want getting eaten in your main display, copepods and such. the volume of your sump adds to the total volume of your system as well, making changes happen that much slower therefore giving you that much more time to react. not to mention the bigger you go the less likely you've pigeon holed your self in the future i agree the more space the better. my sump is going to be