PDA

View Full Version : Red Deer Reefer

yeahitsgotahemi
03-07-2009, 05:30 PM
Hey Everyone, Im new to reefkeeping and just wanted to say im incredibly excited to get started with it. I am purchasing all my equipment thru my LFS!!! There the only guys selling salt water in red deer!!!! Anyone have any advice on live Rock? I have a 90 gallon, reef rdy tank, with a 30 gallon sump!

Leah
03-07-2009, 05:36 PM
Have fun! I will let the EXPERTS answer the rest for you. Yippee another one!
And welcome, sounds like a nice size tank to start with!

yeahitsgotahemi
03-07-2009, 05:42 PM
Thanks!!! I have purchased 4 books and read them from cover to cover. They are 500 ways to be a better salt water keeper, Idiots guide to salt water fish, The complete reef aquarium, and The New Encylopedia of marine reef. These are all fascinating books. I have got a very good understanding of what needs to be done. My biggest questions still arise with the brand new live rock and starting out. If anyone can answer this for me it would be very helpful. this is whats happening.

I am going to buy approx 100 pounds of Live Rock, This rock has been cycled in a tank now for maybe a month or more. The substrate i plan on using is going to be about 3 inches deep. Will be crushed coral and argonite, the stuff out of the bag with no biological bacteria in it. The water i want to use is going to be roughly 50-60 percent water change water from my LFS. Is this going to work? I dont really understand if im supposed to put all 100 pounds in the water at once, or build my way up to like 150 pounds? Im a little confused about the initial startup. From what i have been reading if i put the water in the tank, put the rock in the tank, and dump the sand in. Within a few days it should be ready to test run a chromis?

Leah
03-07-2009, 05:50 PM
Ohh! Word of caution about the water, I would seriously ? it. It may have its own problems. Wait till you hear from someone with experience. Yikes! I am a chicken