PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice/opinions

Ian
03-03-2009, 04:33 AM
Looks Like I am going to make the jump to a larger mixed reef.. Should be 90 gallons plus sump/refugium of 45 ish gallons.
What I am looking for is info on lights- I want to go with T5's and would like to be able to get into SPS what how many watts do I need and what combinations of bulb work well for this?

Also what skimmers do you suggest for a system of this size....It will be a few months before this is up and running but I want to start picking up pieces now and I want to get a good start on high quality components to save $ down the road.

I will start a build thread soon

Any other bits of advice are welcome...I am still new to this and welcome the help

mark
03-03-2009, 04:59 AM
check out this month's Tank of the Month (http://canreef.com/ftotm/mar09/) for a T5's layout on a 110g.

Skimmer comparison chart here (http://www.aquariumcontrollers.com/aquarium-equipment-comparisons.php) for ideas

Leah
03-03-2009, 12:07 PM
Ah huh, the bug has bitten another one. Good luck!

digital-audiophile
03-03-2009, 02:30 PM
TEK T5's are great lights and a fair price, you can go more expensive but I still have nott seen any real PAR comparison tests to prove that they are worth the extra dough.

You really have the option of going with a 6 bulb or an 8 bulb light, allthough most people I know running 90's (including myself) use the 6 bulb. With the 8 the last two bulbs just end up spilling more light outside the tank rathen than in, especially if you are eurobraced.

As far as bulbs it comes down to personal preference in the colour spectrum you want. KZ bulbs are a very popular choice.

On My tank I am running:

ATI Blue
KZ Fiji Purple
KZ New Generation
KZ Fiji Purple
KZ New Generation
ATI Blue

With all bulbs on I have a clean white with a nice blue hue similar to what you would see in a quality 14K MH bulb.